# BURNABY BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 41 - BURNABY

The Inaugural meeting of the Burnaby Board of Education was held in the Council Chamber at Burnaby City Hall at 7:05 p.m. on Tuesday, December 6, 2011.

#### **Present**

Trustees-Elect Ron Burton, Meiling Chia, Larry Hayes, Baljinder Narang, Harman Pandher, James Wang and Gary Wong; Superintendent of Schools Claudio Morelli, Secretary-Treasurer Greg Frank, Assistant Superintendents Heather Hart, Kevin Kaardal and Gina Niccoli-Moen and Executive Assistant Sandra Brunner.

#### Call to Order

Secretary-Treasurer Greg Frank assumed the chair and called the meeting to order. He welcomed everyone to the inaugural meeting of the 2012 Burnaby Board of Education and thanked the Quintessence Ensemble from Burnaby South Secondary School for their musical selections.

### **Agenda**

It was moved by Ron Burton and seconded by Larry Hayes:

THAT the agenda be approved, as presented.

Carried unanimously.

#### **Proclamation of Election**

Mr. Frank announced that the Chief Election Officer has provided a report showing the full results for all twenty-three school trustee candidates and has proclaimed the following to be elected to the office of school trustee for a three-year term:

Ron Burton Larry Hayes Gary Wong James Wang Baljinder Narang Meiling Chia Harman Pandher It was moved by Ron Burton and seconded by Baljinder Narang:

THAT the report of the Chief Election Officer be received.

Carried unanimously.

#### **Declaration of Office**

The Honourable Judge Pedro de Couto administered the Oath of Office and Declaration of Allegiance to the newly-elected trustees.

#### **Election of Chair for 2011/2012**

Mr. Frank called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Burnaby Board of Education for 2011/2012.

Ron Burton nominated Larry Hayes. Mr. Hayes accepted the nomination.

Mr. Frank called a second time for nominations.

Ron Burton nominated Harman Pandher. Mr. Pandher declined the nomination.

Mr. Frank called a third time for nominations. There being none, Mr. Frank declared Mr. Hayes as Chair of the Burnaby Board of Education for 2011/2012.

Mr. Hayes assumed the chair.

#### **Election of Vice-Chair for 2011/2012**

Mr. Hayes called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Burnaby Board of Education for 2011/2012.

Gary Wong nominated Baljinder Narang. Ms Narang accepted the nomination.

Mr. Hayes called a second and a third time for nominations. There being none, Mr. Hayes declared Ms Narang as Vice-Chair of the Burnaby Board of Education for 2011/2012.

#### **Election of the BCSTA Provincial Councillor**

Mr. Hayes called for nominations for the position of BCSTA Provincial Councillor for 2011/2012.

James Wang nominated Larry Hayes. Mr. Hayes accepted the nomination.

Mr. Hayes called a second and a third time for nominations. There being none, Mr. Hayes declared himself as BCSTA Provincial Councillor for 2011/2012.

Mr. Hayes called for nominations for the position of BCSTA Provincial Councillor Alternate for 2011/2012.

Baljinder Narang nominated Gary Wong. Mr. Wong accepted the nomination.

Mr. Hayes called a second and a third time for nominations. There being none, Mr. Hayes declared Mr. Wong as BCSTA Provincial Councillor Alternate for 2011/2012.

#### **Board Chair Report**

Mr. Hayes welcomed all the guests present and expressed his thanks to the people of Burnaby for the strong mandate given to the Board. He thanked outgoing Trustees Tony Coccia and Diana Mumford for their dedication and commitment to the school district and welcomed new trustees Meiling Chia and Harman Pandher.

Mr. Hayes highlighted a number of district accomplishments of the last three years and outlined some of the initiatives the district would be pursuing during the board's next three-year term.

#### **Greetings**

Mr. Hayes introduced special guests who brought greetings to the Board:

Garth Errico, President, Burnaby Association of School Administrators Richard Storch, President, Burnaby Teachers' Association Terry Allen, President, CUPE Local 379

Mr. Hayes also recognized several distinguished guests in the audience and asked Mr. Frank to introduce the district staff members present.

## Adjournment

It was moved by Baljinder Narang and seconded by Ron Burton:

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Carried unanimously.

Original signed by:

Larry R. Hayes Chair D. Greg Frank, C.A. Secretary-Treasurer