recent news

School Staff Win Prestigious Cycling Award for Promoting Healthy Transport

The staff cycling team at Moscrop Secondary is the winner of the School Cycling Advocates Award from HUB Cycling.

The team has shown their commitment year-over-year to promoting cycling as a healthy and sustainable mode of transportation. Their efforts have been on HUB’s radar for some time, with Moscrop having consistently been at or near the top among schools for the highest number of participants and total distance during Go by Bike Week. From their humble beginnings with just two or three participants, the Moscrop group has grown to more than 100 members.

Burnaby Board of Education Chair Bill Brassington presented the award on behalf of HUB at their virtual awards ceremony.

On behalf of the Burnaby Board of Education, I want to express my pride and thanks to the team for their dedication to promoting sustainable and healthy transport, reducing their ecological footprints, and for leading by example as role models for students and the wider community”

The staff cycling team is led by teacher Patrick Parkes and includes teachers, education assistants, and administrators. When accepting the award on behalf of the group, teacher Tanguy Exume challenged more schools from all regions to participate.

We are very grateful to be part of that initiative… It keeps us healthy, it’s good for the planet and we hope to have a lot of fierce competition.”

The virtual HUB Cycling awards ceremony was attended by hundreds, including representatives and political leaders from municipalities, TransLink, and the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure.

The Moscrop staff efforts are a great example of the aims of the District’s Sustainability Strategic Plan: working together for the strength and well-being of people and the planet.

Learn More

Read the Award Announcement from Hub Cycling

Watch the Full Video of the HUB Cycling Awards Ceremony

Read the Story in the Burnaby Now

Learn More About Sustainability Efforts in the Burnaby School District


Posted February 2023